Limitless

The first step of recovery was recognising I was able to achieve and do anything I set my mind to.

I always liked the idea of a skydive. I was one of those people who would say ‘I can’t believe you did a skydive, that’s so cool, I’ve wanted to do one for ages’ – but I’d never have the guts and deep down knew that it would never happen.

So I booked it, chose a charity, made a JustGiving page, and that was that! No turning back… Because I had already raised over £500 worth of sponsorship money!

I chose the Stroke Association purely because I work in stroke and that charity closey supports us. I could have just done the skydive and raised nothing. Or raised money and taken the skydive price out of my sponsorship. But no. As I was doing it for me and would have paid for it anyway, raising money and helping others was just a bonus along side 🙂

The experience itself was mind blowing.

I could have jumped another ten thousand times. The plummeting as you left the plane, winds catching your breath away, the pressure against your cheeks making them flap everywhere like jelly… Then  as the parachute is released you are thrown back up in the air in preparation for the most gentle ride with luxurious views of planet earth. So many different feelings thrown into one experience.

In the end I raised over £1000. Gained a passion for the skies, and lastly…. I realised I could conquer anything! 🙂

image

Leave a comment